22 States Sue Trump Administration Over New Coal Rules

  • Aug 14, 2019
  • WBOC TV 16

SACRAMENTO, Calif. (AP/WBOC)- A coalition of 22 Democratic-led states - including all three states that make up the Delmarva Peninsula - has sued the Trump administration over its decision to ease restrictions on coal-fired power plants.

In June, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency eliminated the its Clean Power Plan and replaced it with a new rule that gives states more leeway in deciding required upgrades for coal-fired power plants.

The lawsuit, filed in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit, says the new rule violates the federal Clean Air Act because it does not meaningfully replace power plants' greenhouse gas emissions.

The lawsuit was filed by attorneys general in California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin and the District of Columbia. The chief legal officers of Boulder, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York City, Philadelphia, and South Miami also joined the lawsuit on behalf of their respective cities.

In a statement, Maryland Attorney General Brian E. Frosh said, “The EPA continues to prioritize the coal industry over clean, renewable energy. The decision to implement the ‘Dirty Power’ rule will have long-lasting effects on public health. It will accelerate climate change at a time when we desperately need action to reverse it.”